Artists // Philadelphia Collins

Philadelphia Collins is a new recording project from Devin McKnight (Speedy Ortiz, Grass Is Green) and Theo Hartlett (Ovlov). The duo play all of the instruments on Derp Swervin’ the band’s debut EP set for release on July 21st via Exploding In Sound Records. In addition to the guitars, bass, and drums from the duo, the band is joined by different vocalists for each track, including Two Inch Astronaut’s Sam Rosenberg, Dirty Dishes’ Jenny Tuite, Spook The Herd’s Abe Kimball and on first single “Sofa Queen,” Ellen Kempner of Palehound!

Restless musicians with an unending desire to create, McKnight and Hartlett have created a stunning record filled with hazy post-punk, accessible yet off-kilter, and a penchant for the disorienting.

Philadelphia Collins may not be the main focus of any of the musicians involved, but these are no mere scraps. Derp Swervin’ is a well realized project from start to finish and there’s no shortage of talent involved.